County Coordinators

The 2024 Greater Grand Rapids Spelling Bee covers five counties: Allegan, Barry, Kent, Newaygo, and Ottawa. Each County Coordinator supports its schools which are participating in the Greater Grand Rapids Spelling Bee, disseminates materials provided by Kent ISD, and some also have long-standing county traditions. Each county has a Coordinator who arranges for the Qualifying Regional Bee(s) in that county. Counties with multiple Regional Bees will identify multiple schools to host regional Bees. Contact your County Coordinator with any questions.

The Greater Grand Rapids Spelling Bee is March 20 at 5:30 p.m. at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum.

County Coordinators:

Allegan County (1 Qualifying Bee)

Christy McEvoy - Otsego Schools

Barry County ISD (1 Qualifying Bee)

Richard Franklin, Superintendent, Barry ISD

Kent (8-10 Qualifying Bees)

Maddy Gimby - Kent ISD

Newaygo County RESA (1 Qualifying Bee)

Brenda Burt - Newaygo RESA

Ottawa County (2-3 Qualifying Bees)

Deb McAlpine, Ottawa Area ISD